Artichoke Olive Spread (or Failproof-Party-Food)

24 Dec

good with baguettes

If you think about it, Artichokes are pretty funky. They are harvested as weeds, and each thistly floret must be plucked off so you can really get cooking with them.

good ingredients!

For whatever reason, my mother raised me to esteem these thistles a rare treat. I remember leaning back in the kitchen chair like a “big girl” with my mom, dipping prickly artichoke leaves in sweet melted butter. We’d laugh and make ridiculous faces as we sucked the juices off each piece. When we’d finally eaten our way to the heart (the best part: soft and chewy with no thorny resistance), we would close our eyes and savor each piece in loud Mmhmm’s.

blend it all up

Well, I’m a little too impatient to suck on artichoke leaves now, but any dish related to artichoke reminds me of my mom. Here’s a delicious recipe that combines two other tasty foods that remind me of this Italian lady: green olives and garlic. I’ve heard the Mediterranean diet is key for living long…Cheers to eating this the rest of my life.

Slightly adapted from Smitten Kitchen:

  • 2 garlic cloves (peeled ‘n’ sliced)
  • 1 cup garlic-stuffed green pitted olives
  • 1 14-ounce can of artichoke hearts (drained)
  • 1/4 cup extra-virgin olive oil

Combine all ingredients in a food processor. Process for a few minutes, until the consistency is thick but with a few morsels intact.

Serve over fresh bread! Can also be made up to two days in advance. (Amazing.)

2 Responses to “Artichoke Olive Spread (or Failproof-Party-Food)”

  1. Saloni December 25, 2011 at 3:32 pm #

    I had this and it was so yummy in my tummy!!! Making it today with some alterations and will report back

    • miachel December 25, 2011 at 9:33 pm #

      Amazing! Can’t wait to hear, girl.

Leave a Reply

